When un-deleting a photo, restore it to the relevant Recent Imports
If you accidentally move a photo to the trash while working in a Recent Imports catalog collection, but then undo that operation, the photo is not restored to that recent session. It makes it seem as if the photo was permanently deleted because it's not longer in the recent imports nor in the trash.
Current workaround
You must find the impacted photos via a different set of filters since the Recent Import collection no longer contains them.